MARDI GRAS!!!

It’s 48 days before the first Sunday after the first full moon after the vernal equinox, and you know what that means!  IT’S THE DAY BEFORE MARDI GRAS!

Even though everyone has been getting wild at the parties and parades in New Orleans since Saturday, February 15th, tomorrow is officially Mardi Gras.  There are few things I love and support more than indulgence in all of the things you’re supposed to steer clear of- or only have in moderation, so Mardi Gras is perfect.

To celebrate, I made a couple of fun Mardi Gras disguises using inexpensive party masks from my local craft store, and some acrylic paint, glitter, glue, and Dress It Up buttons.  First, I painted the masks with the color that I would want to show through, then I began drawing my patterns with a pencil.  For the first mask, I painted all of the pencil lines gold, filling in each diamond one at a time with glue and glitter.  For the second mask, I painted glue over the pencil lines before sprinkling glitter over everything…  And I mean EVERYTHING.  Once all of the paint and glue/glitter is dry, begin adding your embellishments and have fun parading around town.  Or your living room.  Whichever works for you.

Jesse James Mardi Gras mask 1

Jesse James Mardi Gras mask 2

Jesse James mardi gras masks

Jesse James mardi gras detail 1

Jesse James Mardi Gras detail 2

One thought on “MARDI GRAS!!!

  1. Pingback: Crafting for Special Occasions | Dress It Up Crafts

Leave a Reply

